Life Looping Along

In these times of keeping social distance, when families are spending a lot of time together, I have slowly realized that life chugs along no matter what. The Sun sets and it promptly rises whether I have had enough sleep or not. It was the same before the Corona closings, but now I dwell upon it. I lie in bed and give it some thought. Am I becoming a case for psychology textbooks? No. I just have the luxury of time, for I don’t have to rush off.

On a loop

As the days pass, I sometimes feel it’s the same day, but then the food I ate helps me tell the days apart! Yesterday was pasta and the day before that was gazpacho and the awful homemade bread!

On breaking down my days, I came up with these 4 things I do everyday without fail:

  • Eat
  • Perform ablutions(sounds nice and formal like I am lady of the manor, but then the elbow grease involved is a good reality check!)
  • Work
  • Lie on my Hammock

We have office meetings where, to entertain ourselves we sit in various parts of the house. Sometimes I just change the direction of my chair, and the viewer’s view (so to say) changes. Colleagues add plants and sun-catchers. We chit chat about the day and then share Corona stories before getting to work related talk. Why are we doing all this? To keep ourselves engaged I think. This keeps us involved in keeping alive the office vibe at home. For many this helps keep loneliness at bay. It is that human touch, without the actual physicality, which would otherwise disappear in our virtual work.

The hammock is definitely an unexpected treat. I had bought a hammock for a friend. Once I got marooned at home, instead of an office vibe, I decided on getting a holiday vibe. It’s all rigged up(with some difficulty I must say). I wanted it set so I could lie on it and watch TV, but now I have settled for the laptop on my stomach. Well my mother can’t tick me off for my lifestyle. She hasn’t see it yet and I am keeping it that way.

Stories to tell

Well, will I have wonderful tales to tell my grand-kids about when I was marooned at home? Would a tale about eating awful homemade bread count? I don’t know. Too early to tell. Over time, my memory might add some spices to the tale. Would I color the truth about my awful bread? I might, but would I make it taste fantastic? Nah.

Memories

Do we color our memories?

I think we do. My mother and I do not see eye to eye about certain incidents which involved the two of us – that’s proof I think! Funnily we watched a bunch of Ted talks on memory once. Understanding the brain and memories is still a work in progress for us human beings. I hope we can recall these strange isolating times with wonderful tales – tell me what you do everyday?

4 thoughts on “Life Looping Along

  1. I am glad I made it to your blog today. Many of my friends when they email me write in the subject line jokingly โ€œMonday, or is it Wednesday, no I think itโ€™s Friday!โ€ Yes the days do seem to blur together. When I get up I check the calendar to make sure I know exactly which day it is. My days consist of waking up, meditating, writing for a couple hours, breakfast, repeat, go for a long walk, shower, repeat with writing until dinner time when we can have our glass of wine and try to figure out exactly what we did all day.

    Like

    • I love what your friends write in the subject line! When my father retired he always joked that everyday was a Sunday for him. I sometimes take pictures with a vague plan of making a collage when life returns to normalcy – a sort of 2d representation of these strange days. I can probably use the same three pictures to represent everyday. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My day job is at a hospital and I transport patients. This make me an essential employee as they say. So work, come home and do 100 pushups, situps, and squats in 40 minutes typically, then shower. Onward to the evening which is random for me. I fill in the time with reading, working on my book, building a case for primary parent of my sons through record filing, or just simply having a whiskey and contemplating life.

    I always wanted to live in a more simpler time. I was thinking time traveling back to the early 90s, but without the flux capacitor, I’ll just have to deal with a slowed pace, pandemic filled world in it’s place.

    Enjoy that hammock! My mom has one in her backyard that flips me everytime I sit in it ๐Ÿ˜‚ I would fix it, but where’s the challenge in that ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜

    Like

Leave a comment